Craigs Progress (Suite)

Butler, Martin (1996) Craigs Progress (Suite). [Composition]

Full text not available from this repository.


Craig's Progress was commissioned by Mecklenburgh Opera. It was conceived as a modern-day opera buffa. Subtitled An Operatic Adventure Story, and with a libretto by Stephen Pruslin, the opera follows Craig's journey from naivety to wisdom, from comic-book character to real person. Five singers perform 49 roles as diverse as reindeer, bartenders, Gods, and planets, as well as an Ice Cream Vendor, a Gingerbread Witch, The Fiery Stoker, and many other characters. The combination of operatic and comic-book styles makes this fantasy-world both accessible and humourous.
Craig's Progress, was first performed in June 1994 at the Queen Elizabeth Hall, London.

Item Type: Composition
Schools and Departments: School of Media, Film and Music > Music
Depositing User: Martin Butler
Date Deposited: 06 Feb 2012 19:56
Last Modified: 12 Jul 2012 11:23
📧 Request an update