Hughes, Ed (1999) Sextet. [Composition]

Full text not available from this repository.


This piece is in three movements and is scored for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano and percussion (marimba/vibraphone). The first movement references the 'In Nomine' instrumental form favoured by composers writing for viol consorts up until Purcell's time. The third movement is more abstractly related to a pre-existing form - the 'ground', or repeating bass line over which new music is created. The second movement (which was composed last) creates harmonic fields across which instrumental lines flow, reflected above and below the chords of the piano and vibraphone.

In 2010 the second movement was used as an accompaniment to a short silent film by Lizzie Thynne on photographer Claude Cahun entitled 'Surrealist Picnic II'.

Item Type: Composition
Schools and Departments: School of Media, Film and Music > Music
Depositing User: Ed Hughes
Date Deposited: 06 Feb 2012 19:36
Last Modified: 03 Jul 2012 08:41
📧 Request an update